Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (NON SPOILER REVIEW) | TeenBookLit101

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (NON SPOILER REVIEW) | TeenBookLit101

illuminaeTITLE: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1)

AUTHOR: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

PUBLISHING DETAILS: (UK) 22/10/2015 Rock the Boat

PAGES: 599

STARS: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★


Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads):

The year is 2575, and two rival mega corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.


Writing Style:

I think Illuminae is really known for its unique writing style. The story is told through a series of hacked databases making it so much fun and unique. There is a lot of really cool art work in here which makes it so much enjoyable to read. Despite being 600 pages the writing style means you can fly through this book quickly.


Character Development:

I found myself instantly attached to Kady and Ezra praying for them to be ok. We get to see a lot more of Kady as it is her who hacks into the database but both characters are really realistic with their individual personalities. We see Kady as she becomes really brave when she is forced to risk everything due to the war. Even the Artificial Intelligence system AIDEN seemed so real and at times made me so emotional.


Themes:

The book is mainly a Sci-Fi book set hundreds of years into the future. This makes the book really technical which meant it can be a little hard to understand at first but once you get about 100 pages in it’s a real page turner. Survival is a huge theme. We see the extent the two protagonists go to save their loved ones in the midst of a huge interstellar war.


Overall thoughts:

I absolutely loved this book. This was the first time I ventured into the sci-fi genre and at first, I have to admit, it was hard to understand all the technical stuff but once I was into it I was turning pages like mad. So excited for the sequel.


Top Quote:

“Am I not merciful?”

Amie Kaufman, Illuminae


Links:

Comment below your own thoughts on Illuminae and let me know what you think. Also be sure to share your fav quotes too and anything else book related really.

See ya all soon…

–TeenBookLit101 xx

 

28 thoughts on “Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (NON SPOILER REVIEW) | TeenBookLit101

  1. literaryhues says:

    I love the unique writing style of it! It was so good. I got so invested in the story I found myself yelling at certain parts and having the urge to throw it across the room 😂 I can’t wait for Gemina!

    Like

  2. Marrill Collins says:

    I got this one, but I didn’t know the writing style was the way it was, so I didn’t end up getting far into it. I wasn’t actually planning on finishing it, but after I saw your review I think I might 🙂

    Do you know if it’s the second or the third book that just came out?

    Like

        • TeenBookLit101 says:

          Yes me too.
          Unfortunately they have pushed back the release date to March 2018 😦
          But good news is that there is now a title reveal: Obsidio
          and there is also a competition running on Jay Kristoff’s Blog. Check out my latest blog post for more details 🙂

          Like

  3. doddyaboutbooks says:

    I have so much love for Illuminae – I was lucky enough to see both of the writers at the Brisbane Writers Festival yesterday (which I’ll be blogging about in the next day or so). I can’t wait for Gemina!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

