NY by the Book Tag|TeenBookLit101

Hello everyone, I hope your all doing well. Today i will be doing the NY by the Book Tag. I was tagged by KingdomBookBlog so thank you ver much. Lets go…

The Questions:

  1. WHAT BOOK IS ON YOUR NIGHTSTAND NOW?

The Thousandth Floor.jpg

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee.  I’m loving this so far.

  1. WHAT WAS THE LAST TRULY GREAT BOOK YOU READ?

illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Can’t wait for the sequel this October. Btw you can check out my Non Spoiler review on Illuminae here.

  1. IF YOU COULD MEET ANY WRITER – DEAD OR ALIVE – WHO WOULD IT BE? AND WHAT WOULD YOU WANT TO KNOW?

Divergent Series.png

Veronica Roth. I would love to just have a nice chat with her about her Divergent Series and get her to sign my books J

  1. WHAT BOOKS MIGHT WE BE SURPRISED TO FIND ON YOUR SHELF?

The Color Purple by Alice Walker, The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga– I don’t read adult fiction but I have these for my A Level English Literature class.

  1. HOW DO YOU ORGANIZE YOUR PERSONAL LIBRARY?

I change it up all the time. Currently it’s split into series and stand alones. Sometimes I will do it alphabetically by author’s last names or even a rainbow bookshelf.

  1. WHAT BOOK HAVE YOU ALWAYS MEANT TO READ AND HAVEN’T GOTTEN AROUND TO YET?

Papertowns.jpg

Paper Towns by John Green. This has been on my tbr for nearly a year now.

  1. DISAPPOINTING, OVERRATED, JUST NOT GOOD: WHAT BOOK DID YOU FEEL YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO LIKE BUT DIDN’T?

the_fault_in_our_stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Don’t hate me it’s just I didn’t feel this was an amazing book. It was ok just not the best thing ever. I gave it 3 stars. I did enjoy it but when I read it, I didn’t give myself to the book, (If you know what I mean). Maybe I will re-read it.

  1. WHAT KIND OF STORIES ARE YOU DRAWN TO? ANY YOU STAY CLEAR OF?

Well I tend to read mostly books in the YA age bracket. My fav genre has to be Dystopian. It’s what sparked my love for reading. But recently I have gotten into the fantasy genre and a little bit of the sci-fi genre too. I love reading high school contemporary, especially those where the main themes are friendship and mental health. They are really important to me.

  1. IF YOU COULD REQUIRE THE PRESIDENT TO READ ONE BOOK, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

thg.png

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins– to warn them of the possible future: Don’t do it!!!

  1. WHAT DO YOU PLAN TO READ NEXT?

coa

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. I would like to finish the Shadowhunter Chronicles before the next book in this massive series comes out.

I Tag:

Thank You so much for reading my post today. Be sure to leave a comment below if you do this tag. See you all soon…

-TeenBookLit101

38 thoughts on “NY by the Book Tag|TeenBookLit101

  1. literaryhues says:

    I do agree with Illuminae. I never heard of The Color Purple as a book. I saw a preview of it as a musical when I watched The Tony Awards and it caught my attention. I’ll definitely have to grab a copy!

    Like

  2. LairOfBooks says:

    Illuminae! one of my top faves for 2016 so far, that book legit made me jump off my couch screaming YESSSS! LOL this alone has me hyped up for Gemina. I hope The Thousandth Floor is a winner, I just picked it up because I heard it has Gossip Girl vibes & that show will ALWAYS live on in my heart lol *Chuck Bass trash*

    Like

  3. doddyaboutbooks says:

    Totally with you re The Fault in Our Stars. Went to the movie with my daughter and in the really emotional scene where they are eulogising – I laughed. The cinema was full of teens sobbing like their best friend had just died and it struck me as utterly ridiculous. (For the record, my daughter was not impressed!!)

    Like

    • TeenBookLit101 says:

      Its set it the year 2118 New York Manhattan. The city is basically all within this huge tower with 1000 floors (hence the title) The rich live near the top whereas the poor towards to bottom
      It starts of with a girl jumping of the top floor and then goes 2 months back to everything leading to her jump while you try and figure out who was the one who jumped.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I so need to pick up Illuminae soon, hopefully I can get around to end before the end of the year. I’m so with you on wanting to meet Veronica Roth. She is one of my favorites! Also, I hope you enjoy the rest of TMI. That series is fantastic. Great post! 😊

    Like

  5. itsmisselizabeth says:

    Nice choice for question 9 😉
    City of Ashes was the last book I read of Cassandra Clare’s. It was ok, it wasn’t bad but I’m having trouble getting into the whole “Shadowhunters” fan wagon. I hope you’ll let us know what you think!

    Like

    • novellique says:

      I’ve read the whole series (every shadowhunter book to date, excluding Lady Midnight which I’m half way through) and in my humble opinion, every other Mortal Instruments book is the best: one, three, and five. That’s City of Bones, City of Glass and City of Lost Souls. For me, I loved the first and then didn’t like the second as much, but hopefully if you decide to read City of Glass onwards you’ll find it more enjoyable.

      Like

        • novellique says:

          I loved Clockwork Princess (3rd book) but it took me a long time to start enjoying the series, compared to The Mortal Instruments which I pretty much read in five days straight (the 6th hadn’t been published at that point) – TMI will always be my favourite of the two but I understand why many people prefer TID.

          Like

  6. ChicNerdReads says:

    I agree with Illuminae! It’s such a great book, at least Gemina is right around the corner of releasing! Eek! The rest of the TMI series is also on my TBR before the year is over. I want to read Lady Midnight so bad but I want to finish the rest of the books before getting to that one =)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

